Skip to content

2022 10R National Championship Report and Results

The first championship of 2022 was held for the 10 Rater class at Datchet Water RSC over the weekend of the 2nd/3rd April.

A total of 17 skippers from far and wide entered the event including an entry from Henning Faas from Germany. At the last minute Dave Andrews and Lester Gilbert pulled out over health concerns leaving 15 skippers to compete for the Championship.

Datchet PRO Mike Becket with ARO Vernon Appleton decided to start racing as a single fleet but with a proviso to the skippers that a change to 2 fleets on safety grounds might be called if conditions became too challenging.


Racing commenced on the southern course with all skippers choosing their top rigs. Graham Bantock (Diamond) stamped his mark on the event by taking the first 3 races but he wasn’t to have it completely his own way with Austin Guerrier (Trance) taking race 4 and strong finishes from Duncan Ellis (Trance), Hugh McAdoo (P8), Phil Holliday (P8), Henning Faas (Diamond), and Rob Vice with his borrowed Graffito never far away.

Following a hot lunch provided by the club, racing recommenced on the northern course with some tricky, constantly changing winds giving the race team more than a few headaches. By the end of the day with 10 races completed Graham was leading with 9 points, followed by Duncan (22), Hugh (28), Austin (34) and Phil (40).

Day 2 dawned with cold winds from the northern quadrant and PRO Mike set a lengthy course parallel to the elevated control area. Austin Guerrier suffered terminal winch issues overnight and was unable to make it so 14 boats started the day as a single fleet. Racing was again dominated by Graham but with scores in the mid-fleet very close the racing throughout the fleet was as competitive as ever and it is a great credit to the 10R fleet skippers that not one disputed incident came ashore with all penalties taken promptly on the water and the only raised voice coming from the PRO when announcing course changes.


By the end of racing at 15.30, 24 races had been completed and the fleet adjourned to the Datchet clubhouse for the prizegiving.

With 12 wins and 30.6 points from the 24 races Graham Bantock was the clear 2022 Champion, Duncan Ellis (6 wins, 51pts) was first runner up and Hugh McAdoo (2 wins, 58pts) second runner up. Other skippers to score wins were Henning Faas (2 wins) and Austin Guerrier and Phil Holliday with one apiece.

A big “Thank You” to Datchet Water sailing Club and its members for the help and support in putting on this event, to our catering manager, Keith, for providing the hot lunches and to the race team of PRO Mike Becket, ARO Vernon Appleton, Finishing/observing/photographing David Adam and Les Thorn, Scoring Janice Uttley , mark laying/rescue Richard Jordan.


Back To Top