skip to Main Content

Roger’s innovative designs have contributed to many features that members have on their current boats. He was the architect for the 1960s design revolution introducing bulb keels, light displacement, simple 2 part GRP moulded hull construction, wing masts, double luff sails, mylar sails, an ergonomic easily made vane gear, displacement penalty lightweight A class.

With radio he introduced una rigs, removable cassette radio gear, wire mast rings, the swing rig, kevlar hulls, carbon spars, hulls and fins, the BOTTLE boat, which was awarded a Millennium Products award by the Design Council.

Currently his designs still rate with the best and win Footy and Marblehead events.

He is experimenting with offset pivot swing rigs for smaller suits where the mast is mounted on a rotating bracket and not attached directly to the hull.

His designs feature simplicity in both concept and manufacture, whether it is a stainless steel wire bowsie or a Dyneema line mast ring. His boats are beautifully balanced, easy to sail and have given pleasure to a great many owners.

Other MYA Award Winners
2021 Syan Award – Fleetwood Model Yacht & Power Boat Club

Congratulations to the committee and members of Fleetwood MY & PBC for both their individual…

2021 Chris Dicks Award – John Simpson

The Chris Dicks award has been made to Fleetwood member John Simpson in recognition not…

2020 Syan & Chris Dicks Awards – Not Awarded (Covid)

Due to the Coronavirus Pandemic, there were no awards for 2020.

2019 Syan Award – Derek Baratt

At the 2019 AGM, Derek was awarded the Syan Award for outstanding contribution to model…

2019 Chris Dicks Award – David Hollom

At the 2019 AGM, David Hollom was awarded the Chris Dicks Award for his success…

2018 Syan Award – Joyce Roberts

At the 2018 AGM, the MYA Syan Award was made to Joyce Roberts, and accepted…

2018 Chris Dicks Award – Not Awarded

The Chris Dicks Award was not awarded in 2018.

2017 Syan Award – Roger Stollery

This year Roger has made a major contribution to the administration of the MYA, by…

Back To Top