skip to Main Content

2016 has seen the recipient of the Chris Dicks Award dominate the Radio Sailing scene domestically and internationally with his own designed and built boats and rigs.

Brad will need no introduction to the MYA members as a previous winner of this award for his Britpop! IOM; however we suspect that the Marblehead design for which he won the 2016 Chris Dicks Award will probably give him as much satisfaction, if not more….

A fan of the Marblehead from a young age Brad used his knowledge and experience to create his latest Grunge design of Marblehead, a boat which since inception and in the hands of Brad remains unbeaten in all events since its 1st event at the MYA Nationals at Fleetwood in 2012.

Brad has used the “Grunge” to win the UK M Nationals in 2012,13,14,15,16 and the World Championships in 2012, 2014 and 2016. A truly remarkable achievement in a class with great scope to develop and refine designs quickly.

Other MYA Award Winners
2021 Syan Award – Fleetwood Model Yacht & Power Boat Club

Congratulations to the committee and members of Fleetwood MY & PBC for both their individual…

2021 Chris Dicks Award – John Simpson

The Chris Dicks award has been made to Fleetwood member John Simpson in recognition not…

2020 Syan & Chris Dicks Awards – Not Awarded (Covid)

Due to the Coronavirus Pandemic, there were no awards for 2020.

2019 Syan Award – Derek Baratt

At the 2019 AGM, Derek was awarded the Syan Award for outstanding contribution to model…

2019 Chris Dicks Award – David Hollom

At the 2019 AGM, David Hollom was awarded the Chris Dicks Award for his success…

2018 Syan Award – Joyce Roberts

At the 2018 AGM, the MYA Syan Award was made to Joyce Roberts, and accepted…

2018 Chris Dicks Award – Not Awarded

The Chris Dicks Award was not awarded in 2018.

2017 Syan Award – Roger Stollery

This year Roger has made a major contribution to the administration of the MYA, by…

Back To Top