skip to Main Content

At the 2015 AGM, the Syan Award was presented to Peter Whiteside. Peter first joined the Fleetwood club in the 1950’s. Over the last 20+ years he has been the Fleetwood Club’s yachting secretary arranging all forms of events from club to National Championships both vane and radio. His efforts to attract entries have been ‘superhuman’. Along with this he has actively participated in most ‘A’ class and Marblehead events over the last 30 years and recently encouraged Vane 36 sailing again at Fleetwood.

What a modest man, he is always welcoming and he has always made it a pleasure to race at Fleetwood. We feel he fully deserves consideration for the Syan Award as he has made an outstanding contribution to model yachting.

Other MYA Award Winners
2021 Syan Award – Fleetwood Model Yacht & Power Boat Club

Congratulations to the committee and members of Fleetwood MY & PBC for both their individual…

2021 Chris Dicks Award – John Simpson

The Chris Dicks award has been made to Fleetwood member John Simpson in recognition not…

2020 Syan & Chris Dicks Awards – Not Awarded (Covid)

Due to the Coronavirus Pandemic, there were no awards for 2020.

2019 Syan Award – Derek Baratt

At the 2019 AGM, Derek was awarded the Syan Award for outstanding contribution to model…

2019 Chris Dicks Award – David Hollom

At the 2019 AGM, David Hollom was awarded the Chris Dicks Award for his success…

2018 Syan Award – Joyce Roberts

At the 2018 AGM, the MYA Syan Award was made to Joyce Roberts, and accepted…

2018 Chris Dicks Award – Not Awarded

The Chris Dicks Award was not awarded in 2018.

2017 Syan Award – Roger Stollery

This year Roger has made a major contribution to the administration of the MYA, by…

Back To Top