skip to Main Content

At the 2015 AGM, the Chris Dicks Award was presented to Peter Wiles. Peter’s contribution to good model yacht design is not just for a single model yacht hull or fitting, but for a great range of products. Many of his injection moulded fittings are ingenious, well-made and have been created from his top-level sailing experience and the desire to improve the design and make his products work better. Improvement on existing designs was an approach which Chris Dicks appreciated. Peter demonstrates this by the many versions of his A class design, as well as the development of his fittings. Peter’s contribution is at the level of the sport for those starting out in radio sailing in the established classes, which is important for the sport’s growth. His approach is not just for newcomers, but for those who wish to improve their existing radio sailing experience, without having to spend a lot of money to do so.

Other MYA Award Winners
2021 Syan Award – Fleetwood Model Yacht & Power Boat Club

Congratulations to the committee and members of Fleetwood MY & PBC for both their individual…

2021 Chris Dicks Award – John Simpson

The Chris Dicks award has been made to Fleetwood member John Simpson in recognition not…

2020 Syan & Chris Dicks Awards – Not Awarded (Covid)

Due to the Coronavirus Pandemic, there were no awards for 2020.

2019 Syan Award – Derek Baratt

At the 2019 AGM, Derek was awarded the Syan Award for outstanding contribution to model…

2019 Chris Dicks Award – David Hollom

At the 2019 AGM, David Hollom was awarded the Chris Dicks Award for his success…

2018 Syan Award – Joyce Roberts

At the 2018 AGM, the MYA Syan Award was made to Joyce Roberts, and accepted…

2018 Chris Dicks Award – Not Awarded

The Chris Dicks Award was not awarded in 2018.

2017 Syan Award – Roger Stollery

This year Roger has made a major contribution to the administration of the MYA, by…

Back To Top