Skip to content

2022 Ten Rater Ranking 1 Results & Report

The first ranking event of the season was hosted by Chipstead Sailing Club for the Ten Rater Class. With light variable winds blowing down the lake PRO Dave Allinson set a good length windward/leeward course with the windward mark a challenging distance from the control area.

The final results sheet might seem to indicate a pretty mundane and near processional sort of event but nothing could be further from the truth. With subtle variations in both pressure and direction reading the best route around the course was not easy and at some point during the day almost every skipper led part of a race and almost every skipper hit the windward mark!

Eventual winner Graham Bantock (Diamond) stamped his mark on the event with wins in races one and two but was then pushed into second place by Class Captain Hugh McAdoo (P8) in race 3. It was then the turn of Austin Guerrier (Trance) to take 2 wins in succession whilst all the time Colin Harper with his new boat (Trance) was hovering just behind with a couple of second places from the first 4 races.

Dave Allinson kept the pace up and with a couple of short breaks he had 9 races completed before a very welcome lunch break in the clubhouse for an excellent beef stew and hot drinks. With all the skippers and race team warmed and refreshed (and some boats repaired) racing recommenced with Austin taking race 10 then Colin race 11 before Graham once again took control winning the final 4 races. Skippers retired for the day to the club house for tea and cake and prizegiving.

A very good-natured event, sailed in a competitive but fair manner with all penalties being taken on the water. Thanks must go to Dave Allinson and his team of volunteers for putting on the event and for their excellent hospitality for the visiting skippers.

1st – Graham Bantock (Chelmsford) (Diamond) 16pts
2nd – Austin Guerrier (Datchet Water) (Trance) 32pts
3rd – Colin Harper (London MYC) (Trance) 46pts
4th – David Andrews (London MYC) (Trance) 56pts
5th – Hugh McAdoo (Datchet Water) (P8) 62pts
6th – Robert Wilson (Lincoln) (Defector) 63pts
7th – Phil Holiday (Datchet Water) (P8) 68pts
8th – Chris Robb (Datchet Water) (P8) 90pts
9th – Graham Hetem (Datchet Water) (P8) 113pts

Graham Bantock, Winner of the 2022 Ten Rater Ranking 1
Back To Top