Jump to content

Terry Rensch

MYA Member
  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Terry Rensch

  1. At Datchet we sail on a reservoir which has a sloping base, we decided that we need to adjust the line to suit when the water is inor out or adjust position of buoys to suit, so our lines are 24 meters long secured to a sinker which has a toggle on a 300mm spliced line secured to it. At intervals on the line we have spliced hoops just put the toggle through hoop to reduce line. In addition we use a block on a 300mm spliced line at each buoy and use a counter balance weight (old window sash) to take up the slack and keep the buoy line as straight as possible Simple solutions to varying depth of water it suits what we need and the water depth at Datchet.
  2. Hi All Great post here for all to take on board, i have for a long time have supported the establishment of class association its the fundlemental move forward for growth in the UK for owners to be in total control of their class. I have spoken to Gavin over many months for a formation of a group of didicated individuals that can move this forward, the marblehead class will follow shortly after. The most important thought is this do we want class association and therefore the owners then take control? I for one will encourage that route 100%. Its the logical path forward for sucess of our sport of radio sailing. I disagree with Mikes comment re filling roles on MYA council as the forward path re class associations will mean the MYA consentrate on a reduced agenda and as such require fewer members on council due to reduced workload that will be carried out at class level. i truly believe the MYA is in a transitional point in its formation, outlook and management in the foreseable future which will require a new and updated constituion as a consequence. Graham Glad you and Victoria are on board with the IOM its the only way forward
  3. results for M&S 10R District Championship attached 2016M&SChampionshipResultsCC2May2016.xlsx
  4. Hyde Parks Round Pond was the venue for this years M&S 10 Rater class championship where a committed group of 13 skippers presented themselves for this years event. PRO Charles Clark got things underway setting a windward/leeward course over 2 laps and from the outset is was Graham Bantock who meant business with a string of top place finishes. Other skippers to do well throughout the day were Hugh McAdoo, Richard Uttley and Colin Trower. Racing throughout the fleet was tight with wind shifts keeping skippers on their toes over the large course. After 17 Races with discards, it was Bantock who recorded a solid win, with McAdoo in second with Uttley pipping Trower by a point for third. All skippers roundly thanked Charles Clark and the MYSA team for a great days racing. Interest will now turn to the upcoming National Championships to be held at the popular Datchet Water Venue with a large entry expected as a final hit out before Octobers World Championship at Limone del Garda. Link to Worlds Venue http://worlds2016.tenrater.org/ Copy of 2016 MS Championship Results
  5. Alex is a craftsman and very economical I just had my Quark repaired and a new raised bow added inline with the latest Quarks. John Shorrocks Quark was very badly damaged at the Chelmsford ranking cracked in several places and the tension on the jib pulled the deck up and away. Now fully repaired and he was sailing in C rig at datchet last Saturday.
  6. Hi John It was a shame that you had a low turnout but may be due to a number of issues, 1. Hampton Court event was well advertised and is part of the PRACC series and it was the first A boat event of the year 2. Easter Bank holiday weekend may keep a number of skippers away due to holiday etc. 3. It was also hot on the heels of the very busy IOM ranking weekend at West Kirby the weekend before and there were at least 7 A class skippers at that event that were not at Fleetwood I race an A class but only saw the prompt on the MYA website during the week and as I am away this weekend and next weekend sailing I need to get browny points with my better half. The A class needs supporting at as many events as possible but we have to let the fleet know what's going on well in advance And unfortunately the year book was late coming out this year which I don't think helped. For future reference an email to the class captain well before the event may have helped. Terry
  7. Thank you all for your comments on this matter which was a difficult call from the race committees point of view, we did have a suggestion to DSQ both boats but I discarded that as you cannot without a hearing, the expire of the time limit was the unknown element thank you Lester for that clarity I totally agree with Gordon's comment on both boats close hauled and sailing for me it was a windward leeward situation which was masked by the actions of Boat A withdrawing his protest due to form incompletion etc and Boat B left in a situation of not defending his actions and we all believed time limit had expired. Boat A comments during the discussions with both skippers eluded to the problem when he stated that boat B was trying to luff him!!! The suggestion to DSQ both boats came from someone who is perceived to know the rules, which is the reason I posted this situation on the forum. Knowledge and the correct information helps all understand the rules a little better especially when running an event. Thank you Sailterry
  8. Hi Gordon Both boats were close hauled and contact was made shortly after B tacked to leeward of A and was sailing to the windward mark both boats were moving at the same speed close hauled. Boat A went off to complete the protest forms, boat B was informed, the time limit expired when Boat A withdrew protest due to unwilling to complete protest form. Race committee had an un resolved contact so both skippers were called. Boat A was insistent that he was the innocent party Boat B was ready for protest but time had now elapsed and was not given opportunity to present his case. Boat A decided to withdraw and retire from race. My query is what would a race committee do in this situation if you have a protest from Boat A on and off the water boat B responded in both cases to the protest stating that he tacked onto starboard leeward but A bore down on him, then after the time limit has expired withdrew your protest but still maintain that you were the offended boat. How would a race committee deal with this situation?
  9. Had a situation on an incident looking for guidance. During a race boat A windward and on starboard sailing to windward mark but outside of zone. Boat B was on port and tacked onto starboard but leeward of boat A again outside of zone to windward mark, boat A protest boat B for luffing and contact boat B maintained no luff my sails are full and sailing and boat A came down onto boat B and as windward boat should keep clear. Boat A protested twice both boats maintained their positions and no penalty turn was taken by either boat. Boat A protest boat B and the skipper of boat B was informed. Boat A decided not to proceed with protest as he did not want to complete protest forms and decided to drop protest. Race team had a problem as a contact was made and both boats did not do a turn. Observer reports were in conclusive due to incomplete story and it relied on each skippers version of events which are as above. The time limit expired and it was suggested that both skippers get disqualified due to no penalty by either of them, boat B stated that as time limit expired, and he was ready to go to a protest hearing so he would protest the race committee What would have been the correct outcome of this situation given the situation. Incidentally boat A retired from that race.
  • Create New...