Posted April 28, 20241 yr if l am over taken by a boat on the run and they overtake to windward can l luff them up through 90 degrees? I thought l could but was told today l couldn’t. Doesnt make sense as they are windward boat and l called them whilst luffing
April 28, 20241 yr The rules that apply to two boats on the same tack (gybe) are R 11 Windward stays clear, and R 16.1 - the leeward ROW boat as she alters course, must give the other boat room to stay clear. So the leeward boat may luff all the way to head to wind as long as she complies with 16.1 and the other boat must keep clear. Note that the concept of 'proper course' does not apply here as there in no mention of proper course in either R 11 or 16.1. John Edited April 28, 20241 yr by John Ball
April 28, 20241 yr My reply above covers what the RRS says, but what is more important is the tactical situation and how the rules may be used to gain an advantage. While you may luff a boat to windward, what is the point? They are trying to block your wind, and you have the right to defend it, but while you are both luffing, the rest of the fleet is gaining on both of you. On a run, what is more important is to protect the inside line for the next mark – so if they are trying to pass to weather but will make them outside at the mark, let them go. If they are trying to be inside boat at the mark, then you should start to head up well before the overlap even begins to make it clear you will not let them and to encourage them to go below, so that you will be the one with mark room. John
Create an account or sign in to comment