Jump to content

John Ball

Forum Member
  • Posts

    204
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    3

Everything posted by John Ball

  1. Hi Rohan, I have created a couple of diagrams - the overlap starts as soon as the bow of Green reaches a line drawn square off the transom of Yellow. In the upper diagram, the overlap at P2 is too close - even to the point that as Green moves forward and Yellow sheets in her sails to start to respond, Green could be trapped by the boom of Yellow. In the lower diagram, it looks like room is given. A hail of 'stay up' is quite appropriate. If Yellow does not respond, then hail protest at the time of the incident. For more info on how to protest, see Chapter 7. The Protest. John Sufficient room.pdf
  2. Hi Rohan, the rules to read are 11, 12, 15, and 16.1. R17 does not apply before the start. You may find Chapter 2 STarts on my web site useful https://sites.google.com/site/johnsrcsailingrulesandtactics/ When a boat is sitting just below the line and another boat approaches from astern, the boat astern has to keep clear. R12. When the approaching boat establishes a leeward overlap from astern, the rule changes and R11 applies and the now windward boat must keep , however as ROW changed, the windward boat initially must have room to keep clear R15. Once room has been given and as R 11 applies, W must keep clear, but if L wants to luff up a bit to push W over, then R16.1 applies as L with ROW changes course and again W must be given room. John
  3. Hi Ian, The concept of 'advantage' comes up in taking penalties. Running aground is not against the rules - so no penalty implication. When refloating a boat, you may not give it a strong push, as that would break R 42 Propulsion. If a boat is able to take a risky path and cut a corner and risk running aground, but a quick recovery gets the boat back into the race with an advantage, then that is a race management issue, and the RC needs to think about how the course is set, and maybe declare an area as an obstruction (no-go). John
  4. Hi Michael, the boat is only disabled while she is aground. Once she has been released, she is no longer disabled and may continue to race. There is no rule that says that once you are disabled, you must retire, except for the hail of 'out of control' John
  5. Hi Michael, pushing off your own boat is not outside help - so no rule is broken. See E3.1 Yes, the boat is disabled, so the RC may help (E4.2(c)) by sending a rescue to relaunch or even by directing another party (who becomes an extension of the RC) to help. John
  6. HI Trevor, That's great as the sound files on the RMG web site would not work for me. I have saved them on my computer. However, which is which REV. John
  7. No it would not be considered outside help as described in E4.2- it would have been considered as a witness to an incident. John
  8. While john949 describes a protest hearing, John Taylor's problem is that the umpire made a decision and awarded a penalty. Usually regattas that use Umpires are set up as 'no appeal' against a decision of the umpire. So John has no recourse. However, if the Umpire recognises that they made an error - they can notify the RC under 62.1 as an error or omission. Then the RC may call a request for redress under 60.2 Then a redress hearing may consider the events and make a new determination. John
  9. Hi John, cannot comment on your scenario, but here is what I think should happen. One boat hails Protest. The incident is not seen by an observer, nor the Umpire. The other boat does not take a penalty. The umpire cannot make a decision as they have no facts. The umpire has only a short time to react - and with no facts, should hail 'No Decision'. What you have is an 'unresolved incident' and that should go to a protest hearing. Here is a link to the IRSA Addendum Q for Umpired Racing. https://www.radiosailing.org/documents/administration/category/276-umpiring?download=440:irsa-rules-for-umpired-racing-2020 This document is being replaced by a new World Sailing document called 'Test Rule for Umpired Radio Sailing'. I am not sure what its publication status is, but the essential actions are the same in each document. John
  10. This is how we do our scoring. It is a two part process. We score the weekly race day as normal. We run a second copy for the series, where the top boat for race day 1 is scored first, and so on , then next week become Race 2. The program we use is called Afleet ( from NZ), and it runs on an Android phone or tablet and is designed for RC sailing. https://afleet.app/ The current version is for just one fleet, but the beta version (available by special request) supports a multi-fleet hms style scoring. Both work fine and are easy to use. You can output the results as a pdf and transfer to a shared google drive, or upload to your local club web site. It is quite fully featured, for redress, dnf, dsq etc, and discards can be customised, but default to after 4,8, and every 8 thereafter. John
  11. The rule 16.1 is the easy part - Yes, when a ROW boat alters course, it must give 'room'. Room is defined as room to avoid in a seaman-like manner. Seaman-like is described in WS Case 103 as room for an experienced but not expert crew. The WS Call Book for Radio Sailing General Principles #1 through 4 and especially, #3 also says that while an RC boat can manouver faster, you still have to allow time for the skipper to see what is happening, and to decide that an action is to be taken, and then start to take it. So while the rule part is easy, establishing the facts to apply the rule is harder. we are hearing only one side of the incident, and you say 'quarter of meter, and alters course sharply'. If those facts are established by a Protest Committee, it sounds reasonable to find that sufficient room was not given. John
  12. Not quite - the IOM class rules require that the panels of an individual sail be of the same material (ply) , but you may use different material for main and jib. John
  13. While 44.1 refers to the series, E4.3(b) does not. So in radio sailing, just the heat or race. John
  14. Hi John As a newish RC sailor, have you visited my rules and tactics site - it may help https://sites.google.com/site/johnsrcsailingrulesandtactics/ As you your comment about 'seamanlike', that only kicks in when 'room' comes into play - eg when an ROW boat alters course, does the keep clear boat have 'room'? So when Yellow alters course to circle back, does she give room for a keep clear boat? It appears Yes, as drawn. Once Yellow gains mark room over Red, under R 18.2(a) she would be exonerated for any breach as long as she is sailing within the room permitted by her proper course - and that include room to avoid Green. John
  15. Hi again John, Here is a diagram for your second question re missing the downwind mark. Here Yellow enters the zone clear ahead of Green and Red and is entitled to mark room R 18.2(b). However she turns short of the mark and circles back, passing head to wind at P4. At that point the previous mark room ends. However when Green enters the zone and become overlapped inside Yellow by P5, R 18.2(a) applies and Yellow gives mark room to Green. Red also enters the zone already overlapped with Green and gives Green mark room (18.2(b) and becomes overlapped outside Yellow by P5 and has to give mark room to Yellow R 18.2(a). John
  16. The diagramming program is called 'boats.exe' It is available for free download from http://boats.sourceforge.net/ It has a short learning curve, but overall is easy to use. You wrote for your second question in a similay vein, what about mark room if you accidentally sail inside a downwind mark and tack to go back and round it correctly? Obviously you have to keep clear while tacking but once you have completed the tack, are you still entitled to mark room from boats which were clear astern when you entered the zone (and you haven't left it)? To enlarge on my previous answer, as you tacked in the zone, any existing mark room expires. As you are in the zone after the tack, and another boat enters the zone, R 18.2(a) will apply , as 18.2(b) does not apply. So as you become overlapped the inside boat gains mark room. John
  17. Hi John, it always helps to provide a diagram. I have made one that I think represents your incident. The answer is that Green has broken no rule (ie did not hit mark and was not doing a penalty turn). so it is her proper course that counts. Green's proper course is to come up to close hauled to get back to the mark and Yellow as windward must keep clear. R 23.2 and R 11. On your second question, once the returning boat tacks (or leaves the zone), the original mark room ends. R 18.2(d)
  18. I suggest you read Call P4 in the World Sailing Call Book for Radio Sailing (formerly the IRSA Case Book). As P did not gain any place ( or advantage) by her infringement, her penalty is completed after one penalty turn. John
  19. A possible cause is insufficient prebend in the mast. If you have too little prebend, then you only have a little backstay tension to bring the mast straight. With just a little tension from the backstay which transfers to the forestay, the rig does not generate enough tension on the topping lift. John
  20. Even if the RC was found guilty of an improper action by hailing the recalls, the boat would not be eligible for redress due to the 'no fault of her own' condition in R 62.1. John
  21. Yes you may hail for room to tack if you are sailing close hauled towards an obstruction at any time while subject to the racing rules and Yes a penalty applies for failing to respond as required by R 20 at any time after the 1 minute signal. John
  22. I don't understand why you feel this way John. The skipper of B thinks a rule may have been broken - and his recourse is to protest or request redress - he may be right or wrong, but by going to a hearing, everybody may learn. In this incident, A is not breaking any rules, and B's issue is actually with the RC person. John
  23. Hi Vinnie, First, I could not find any cases or calls which may help with your question. My opinion is that a protest against A would fail - see R 41 (c) and (d) as the information about the course was freely available to all the skippers. A request for redress against the RC for yelling out the information may be more appropriate. A redress hearing would not penalise A, but may award B points equal to first as the improper action of the RC made B's finish position worse. However the hearing may dismiss the claim. John
  24. I hesitated to post this link of my mast bender in use as the sound is poor - I did not even know at the time that it was being recorded! One nice feature is its portability - we set it up at the pond, clamped to a (slightly shaky) fence. The last bit of the clip shows an added feature - a simple lever gauge that helps with calibration for different mast materials - I have three settings marked, one for the Easton 7075 11mm tent pole (slightly thicker wall that the French masts), one for the French 11mm tubes, and one for the Sails Etc 6061 alloy, which bends much more easily. There are more comments for its use back at the top of this thread - second post,
  25. I ask if there has been any progress by MYA on my suggestion? I was just reading the HMS regulations for another question when I spotted this line item. HMS 1.8(d) Except where HMS 1.8(b) applies in Race 1, requests for redress under RRS E6.6 (e) and (f) may only be made in Race 2 or following races. I had not noticed this line item before- but as it stands, any regatta that runs under H MS cannot use my proposed solution unless there is a specific item in the SI that overrules 1.8(d) to allow redress in Race 1 - and this is highly unlikely as any RC would not normally anticipate such a need - and short of putting such a statement in every HMS event's SI, the better solution would be a change to 1.8(d) and add a method, such as I suggest for the calculation. I am not suggesting a programming change to HMS, just the approval and procedure to do it be added to the Regs- the calculation can be done manually. Respectfully John
×
×
  • Create New...