Jump to content

Lester Gilbert

MYA Council
  • Posts

    226
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Reputation

0 Neutral

About Lester Gilbert

Retained

  • MYA
    International Officer

Personal Information

  • First Name
    Lester
  • Last Name
    Gilbert

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. John reminds us that there are further grounds for redress given in RRS E6.6 (radio interference, being disabled). Interestingly, there is also a ground for redress given in HMS 1.8, which is that a boat may be given a changed finishing place in addition to a changed score for an incident on the last leg.
  2. Both L and W receive a BFD penalty. My reading of the RRS suggests that L can protest W. Because W was obliged to immediately leave the racing area, taking a penalty turn was not an option. If L is sufficiently aggrieved, she can bring a protest and it would be up to the protest committee to decide if indeed W broke a rule. However, W already has a BFD. The protest committee could impose a DSQ, and the only significance of a DSQ as compared to a BFD is that it lies one position lower in the division of the fleet for the next heat under HMS.. I do not think L can request redress under RRS 62. The list of grounds for redress are given in 62.1, and 62.1(d), the only likely possibility, applies only if the boat at fault was penalised under RRS 2 and not under any other rule, such as RRS 11 which makes W the give-way boat.
  3. From the photo, it looks like the fin is not a SAILSetc item. In that case, checking its position on the SAILSetc plan might not give a good outcome; and depending on the skill and experience of its previous owner, it might actually be in the "right" position. The issue is the balance of the boat, such that fin position needs to cooperate or coordinate with the sail plan. There is no "right" fin position otherwise. The only way to tell is to sail the boat and check the amount of helm, weather or lee, needed to keep her on track in a breeze which keeps her nicely heeled (30 degrees usually quoted). If the helm is neutral or slightly weather, the fin and the rig are in their "right" positions. If the mast needs to be forward of upright, or raked far back to obtain good balance, well, that's when its time to think about re-positioning the fin. I'd suggest, before surgery to "correct" the fin, sail the boat first; the fin would be too far back if you found you had to rake the mast back excessively. Good luck!
  4. Common to have the bulb canted around 2 degrees, gives optimum attitude when the boat is well heeled on the beat, or when being well driven on the run. http://www.onemetre.net/Design/Bulbcant/BulbCant.htm
  5. Currently, the Free Sailing Class Rules Supplement specifies, "1.2 The use of radio control, or any device not activated by the force of the wind, including timing devices for the operation of a tacking guy, is prohibited." Exactly what might be meant, or intended, by the phrase "activated by the force of the wind" is a very interesting question. A vane feather connected to an Arduino or similar is certainly "activated by the wind". But is the consequent control of the rudder via a servo also therefore activated by the wind? Do we need to understand "activated" as both "controlled" and "powered"?
  6. Hi Gareth Sadly, the free sailing rules require updating to reflect accepted practice. The FSCR supplement as published on the MYA Knowledge Base does not specify the necessary changes which you and others have mentioned. There is on-going discussion between the MYA and the Free Sailing Class Owners Group on this .... The M Class Rules require a mainsail to be set, C.7.4(f), and no sail to be reefed, C.7.4(g), as you say. Both rules need to be deleted for free sailing. It would be an interesting discussion at the pond side if anyone were to protest you for furling your jib (smile). A similar issue for the A Class, where the Class Rules specify that a mainsail shall be set and that the mainsail shall not be reefed, but also specify that the jib clew shall be attached to the jib boom. So, it seems that it is explicit that an A Class jib may not be furled, which would be quite a surprise for the Vane A sailors.
  7. Graham's original answer, posted on his behalf. ---------------- The formula is a straightforward use of Simpson's Rule. Imagine the leech roach represented by a graph with 5 ordinates at equal spacing. Let's call the ordinates z0, z1, z2, z3, and z4. The length of the leech is L. The area under this curve - the area of the leech roach - given by Simpson's Rule is: (L/4) * ( z0 + 4 z1 + 2 z2 + 4 z3 + z4 ) / 3 The first term, (L/4), is the spacing of the ordinates, the second term in brackets is the sum of the ordinates each multiplied by the Simpson multiplier (1, 4, 2, 4, 2, 4, 2....... 4, 1), the third term is the divisor 3. It will be obvious with a little though that Simpson's Rule works only for odd numbers of ordinates. For even numbers the trapezoidal rule is used. For special numbers of ordinates there are 'other' Simpson's multipliers but I'd have to check my uni notes (or Google) to discover those. For a Marblehead leech roach both z0 and z4 are zero, so this becomes: L * ( 4 z1 + 2 z2 + 4 z3 ) / 12 In the case of the Marblehead excess sail area calculation we do not have the leech length, L, but we do have the luff length, A. And we are interested in an excess area gained by excesses of the cross widths over the permitted cross widths. Those excesses are called X, Y and Z. So, if we replace L by A and z1, z2 and z3 by X, Y and Z we get the following: A * ( 2X + Y + 2Z ) / 6 Voila.
  8. Graham Bantock has explained the formula for the excess area of a Marblehead leech roach, as below.
  9. Hi Bill The best way to check your boat is to work through the 6M rules https://www.mya-uk.org.uk/kb/six-metre-class-6m/ and see how she conforms. A 6M is not the easiest of boats to check, though, and it may be that you need to have her measured. And the best way to check competitiveness is to enter an event and see how you do (smile). There is a 6M event coming up in Norwich at the end of October, drop an e-mail to the organiser, Vinnie.zammit@gmail.com, I'm sure you'd be welcomed. Good luck!
  10. As you well know, Brad, historically the MYA acts and has acted as the NCA for these classes. As you also well know, the MYA is currently trying to move class responsibilities to COGs. In due course I expect those COGs that wish to will accept the responsibility to act as the NCA for their class, and I expect that the MYA will delegate or transfer NCA responsibilities to those COGs. I also expect that not all COGs will want this responsibility, in which case the MYA will have to continue to act as the class NCA. As you well know, this is currently an on-going process that has only started recently, and much needs to be settled before a COG can act as an NCA, not only with the MYA but with the relevant international associations.
  11. Hi Brad A common misconception which I would like to correct. The MYA has introduced COGs recently, overturning nearly 100 years of history. It is a policy that has my enthusiastic support, and as far as I can see the support of the entire MYA Council, executive officers and district councillors alike. As the co-opted Racing Officer, I've engaged with the classes in supporting them to define their racing calendar for 2022 rather than telling them what dates they can have. I've engaged with the classes in asking them to take on the maintenance of their championship and ranking regs, their sailing instructions, and their notice of race templates. There is no reluctance here to ask classes to take control for themselves.
  12. Hi Michael Terminology might be in the way here. One of our "races" is usually made up from a number of heats if there are more than 20 boats or so; if fewer than 20 boats then every race consists of one heat. I'm thinking that your example comprised 6 races, each race comprising one heat. What we call an "event" is usually made up of a number of races. The racing rules of sailing generally talks about a "series" as being a number of races, and so this is what is taken to be an "event" in radio sailing. I'm thinking that your example is an event with 6 races, constituting a series in the terms of the RRS. RRS A7 applies to a particular radio sailing race, but not to the event. RRS A8 applies to the event, and is sometimes called the "countback" rule. There are no rules specifically which deal with what we might call a series, comprising a number of events. The best that can currently be done is to score a series of radio sailing events as a series of series (!), that is, to apply A8 to the events as though they were races.
  13. Hi Damian I guess if there were 3 skippers having trouble and 2 used Futaba, this might be right. But if there were 40 Futaba users in the event and 10 other brands, a different picture emerges.... Do you happen to know how many of the skippers were successfully using Futaba? My maths tutor always told us about the headline, "Dolphin saved my life". Yeah, he'd say, but how often do you hear of a swimmer returning saying, Damn dolphin killed me?
  14. Hi John Could you post a link to a page which explains how to do this, please? Many thanks!
  15. An early page of mine might be interesting. http://www.onemetre.net/Design/Bulbcant/BulbCant.htm
×
×
  • Create New...