Jump to content

Malcolm Donald

Forum Member
  • Posts

    14
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Reputation

0 Neutral

Personal Information

  • First Name
    Malcolm
  • Last Name
    Donald
  1. Thanks John Dave Mike for your replies. much appreciated
  2. Thank you John Mike. As allways concise and to the point.
  3. Far from the case. I do not know what happens at your club but at mine rule adherance is sadly lacking at times. With regard my previous posts as well as this one I discuss the incidents with the race officer concerned and or the other boats involved and inform them that I will seek clarification on this particular forum. My last post saw a comment that the model yachting addendum should possibly be reworded as a result of my post. As Sailing Secretary of a Sailing Club that provides some of the very best yacht and dinghy racing in the UK and a PRO of such events for a number of years it is the advancement of the sport that is my concern. Big Boat skippers and tacticians - mostly professionals - are well aware of rule intricacies; that is their job. Club sailors who race should have the basics. But most importantly, even in a Tuesday morning OAP race with no observers if you break a rule then you do a turn without being called by any of your fellow competitors. My addage has allways been - Keep out of Trouble.
  4. Thanks to everyone who commented. The wind direction was 5 degrees over the stbd quarter so I thought to bear away would be the most prudent action. As I previously stated it all happened so quickly.
  5. Thanks for the replies. The diagram is close to the situation re leeward and immediate windward boat (iwb) but the windward boat has pulled out half a boat length and is starting to bear away around the mark and around the bows of the now two stationary boats.It all happened on the far side of the lake. The situation as described all happened so quickly, say three seconds, that the iwb initial reaction was let out sails to stop way to prevent hitting the now bearing away boat whose sail numbers were hidden. The contact made with the leeward boat was made a second or so after the iwb sails were eased. The question now is: 'do the two windward boats have to ancipate the leeward boats luff', there was no call, and tack away, if they are able to, so to prevent this all to common incident.
  6. It all happened so quickly. One second to react - do I bear away or luff up. Push the control to bear away. Crash.
  7. Downwind leg. Wind gusting 18 -25 knots Same two boats as mentioned in previous post are now running downwind on stbd with the wind five degrees on the stbd quarter. The overtaking leeward boat is two boat lengths ahead and one and a half boat lengths to leeward. Both boats are on the plane. Without warning the leeward boat broaches and is planted squarely in front of the windward boat. The time from the initiation of the brooch to contact is two seconds max. The race observer calls contact. The leeward boat hails windward boat keep clear. The windward boat hails time to keep clear. After second hail by the observer the windward boat does a penalty turn. Does ISAF Case Book 60 cover this situation?
  8. Situation. Wind speed gusting 18-25 knots. Three boats approaching windward mark line abreast on stbd tack half a boat length between boats. At ten boat lengths from the mark It is clear that the leeward boat is not going to be able to clear the mark without luffing. But the wind is gusty and at times enables boats to be lifted up to ten degrees. At two boat lengths from the mark the leeward boat luffs and hits both the immediate windward boat (IWB) and as a result also hits the mark. The leeward boats luff is such that the IWB has no time to respond and would also be restricted in her ability to respond by the windward boat. The race observer calls contact between the leeward boat and the IWB. The leeward boat hails windward boat keep clear. The IWB calls for time and opportunity to keep clear. The race observer hails contact further two times and the IWB does a penalty turn so to prevent a protest hearing. Does ISAF Case Book 60 apply in this situation?
  9. As a further point in this discussion. After an outside boat has given the windward boat mark room at what point can the outside boat, if still overlapped, commence to luff the windward boat if there is sufficient room between the inside boat and the mark for her to respond? Has an outside boat any rights at all in determining what space an inside boat shall have after she has called for mark room?
  10. Thank you everyone for your comments. Very interesting re E2.3.
  11. With regards the diagram it was a stbd rounding situation. Both boats were on stbd gybe. The wind was right aft approaching the mark. Both mains sheeted out.
  12. I would be grateful any comments on the following situation. This scenario all happened within approx 1 2 3 4 5 6 7-8 seconds ie. entering the circle to contact. Wind strength 10 knots approaching the mark gusting 15 as the mark was rounded. Two boats overlapped bow to bow approaching the downwind mark. The inside boat calls for room to round the mark. The outside boat gives room. Both boats proceed round the mark close alongside each other - half a boat length gap. The outside boat now 90 degrees into the turn and still half a boat length to leeward, is bow to transom and expects the inside boat to round up to a close hauled course and continues to luff to assume her close hauled course. The inside boat calls "I have no control', comes upright to an angle of approx 15 degrees in the water and slows considerably now 100 degrees into the rounding. The outside boat under control has by now come alongside to leeward and there is contact midships to midships. The inside boat called protest. On completion of the race the outside boat stated the inside boat had been given sufficient room to round the mark and that it could not foresee the inside boat loosing control and that contact due to the close proximity of the boats was unavoidable. Also the inside boat had not lost rudder control because she continued and finished the race. Could a member please comment and give a ruling as to this situation. Many thanks.
×
×
  • Create New...