Michael Thomas Posted December 30, 2021 Share Posted December 30, 2021 We have a small fleet of Marblehead yachts at the club to which I belong. All have differing fin lengths within the class rules. There is an advantage in some races in hugging close to the shore but it can become shallow and often boats run aground. If the skipper is unable to re-float the boat himself by use of the radio system by sheeting in the sails in order to heel the boat over and float off does the boat become “Disabled” in accordance with the rule. E1.1? Rule E4.2 relates to outside help and is in part 4 of the RRS therefore penalty turns are not applicable. As there appears to be nothing within Part 4 which permits outside help to re-float the boat is the skipper of the grounded boat permitted to either wade into the lake to re-float her or use a long pole to push her off and re-join the race or should she now retire as it was not controlled by the radio? Obviously if another competitor in the race was to do that it would clearly be outside help and a disqualification would follow. Please advise. Thanks Michael. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Ball Posted December 30, 2021 Share Posted December 30, 2021 Hi Michael, pushing off your own boat is not outside help - so no rule is broken. See E3.1 Yes, the boat is disabled, so the RC may help (E4.2(c)) by sending a rescue to relaunch or even by directing another party (who becomes an extension of the RC) to help. John John BallIOM CAN 307 (V8)In my private capacity Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Michael Thomas Posted December 31, 2021 Author Share Posted December 31, 2021 Thank you John for your prompt reply. So in the case of a disabled boat where the RC or his nominee may assist (E4.2(c)) can the boat re-join the race or must she now retire? Michael. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Ball Posted December 31, 2021 Share Posted December 31, 2021 Hi Michael, the boat is only disabled while she is aground. Once she has been released, she is no longer disabled and may continue to race. There is no rule that says that once you are disabled, you must retire, except for the hail of 'out of control' John John BallIOM CAN 307 (V8)In my private capacity Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ianrmcdonald Posted January 1 Share Posted January 1 I am sure John is correct- it just seems strange that a boat can sail into potential danger and advantage - and not be liable to any penalty ( other than the time spent pushing her afloat) Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Ball Posted January 1 Share Posted January 1 Hi Ian, The concept of 'advantage' comes up in taking penalties. Running aground is not against the rules - so no penalty implication. When refloating a boat, you may not give it a strong push, as that would break R 42 Propulsion. If a boat is able to take a risky path and cut a corner and risk running aground, but a quick recovery gets the boat back into the race with an advantage, then that is a race management issue, and the RC needs to think about how the course is set, and maybe declare an area as an obstruction (no-go). John John BallIOM CAN 307 (V8)In my private capacity Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ianrmcdonald Posted January 1 Share Posted January 1 Thanks John Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now