Graham Allen Posted January 11, 2015 Share Posted January 11, 2015 HiCan any one give a definitive answer to a question from the Lincoln lake side?During the 1 minute count down boat A collided with boat B about 30 seconds to go. Boat A did a turn and carried on to the start. Boat B protested boat B for carrying out the penalty turn before the race started. As there was confusion on the call boat A did an extra turn.Both skippers asked other skippers and were advised the turn before the start was OK.Is this correct?For information skipper B is a successful dinghy skipper.Many thanksGraham Graham Allen http://laser173.wordpress.com/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
John Ball Posted January 11, 2015 Share Posted January 11, 2015 An older version of the rules used to say that you have to take the penalty after starting, but that was removed several versions ago. Now you may take the penalty before the start. The rule requires to to take your penalty as soon as possible, after getting clear of other boats - so waiting until after the start would not be 'as soon as possible'.I remember some discussion that a foul prior to the start may have little or no effect on the boat's race, and so taking the penalty before the start is a fitting penalty.John John BallIOM CAN 307 (V8)In my private capacity Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Graham Allen Posted January 11, 2015 Author Share Posted January 11, 2015 Hi JohnMany thanks for your answer. It not only clears the situation up for skipper A (me),but will also help the skipper B in future races in dinghies.Graham Graham Allen http://laser173.wordpress.com/ Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Create an account or sign in to comment
You need to be a member in order to leave a comment
Create an account
Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!
Register a new accountSign in
Already have an account? Sign in here.
Sign In Now