skip to Main Content

At the 2006 AGM, the Technical Secretary introduced to the AGM meeting the criteria of the Chris Dicks Award, which was to be made after evaluation by the judges of the best design of a yacht meeting the need for an innovative design for a foot long sailing yacht for simple construction, easy to build, of good shape, and with a well thought out rig, and with good sailing characteristics.

There were two outstanding examples out of the seven designs submitted, the runner-up being the design submitted by Philip Wiles of Poole MYC, and the winner was the design by John Birnie of Gloucester MYC to whom the trophy was presented by the Technical Secretary, Roger Stollery.

Other MYA Award Winners
2021 Syan Award – Fleetwood Model Yacht & Power Boat Club

Congratulations to the committee and members of Fleetwood MY & PBC for both their individual…

2021 Chris Dicks Award – John Simpson

The Chris Dicks award has been made to Fleetwood member John Simpson in recognition not…

2020 Syan & Chris Dicks Awards – Not Awarded (Covid)

Due to the Coronavirus Pandemic, there were no awards for 2020.

2019 Syan Award – Derek Baratt

At the 2019 AGM, Derek was awarded the Syan Award for outstanding contribution to model…

2019 Chris Dicks Award – David Hollom

At the 2019 AGM, David Hollom was awarded the Chris Dicks Award for his success…

2018 Syan Award – Joyce Roberts

At the 2018 AGM, the MYA Syan Award was made to Joyce Roberts, and accepted…

2018 Chris Dicks Award – Not Awarded

The Chris Dicks Award was not awarded in 2018.

2017 Syan Award – Roger Stollery

This year Roger has made a major contribution to the administration of the MYA, by…

Back To Top